Mash making day

I’m a total believer in mash type of a diet. I think if done well, they get everything they need in a natural way. I was researching this way of feeding parrots and I came across two extremely useful sites:

I found both to be very informative and gave me lots of useful tips on how to make my own mash. So, today I went to my favorite local organic farmer. Their company has opened a new shop and I was delighted to find lots and lots of root veggies for my flock’s mash.

I don’t follow any precise recipe when it comes to making these type of foods. I use what is fresh and in season, I try to choose vegetables that can be given raw, so they get maximum nutrition out of them. If I would have to “boil it down ” to a simple recipe or a rule, I would say that I always put at least;

  • two to three different grains (like quinoa, amaranth, kamut, spelt,…)
  • two different beans (such as mung beans, adzuki, lentils,…)
  • two different yellow vegetables because vitamin A is one of the most common vitamin deficiencies, so I like to put in vegetables that are high in that specific vitamin like sweet potato or chilli peppers
  • three different dark leafy greens ( of eg. kale, watercress, chard,…
  • other things I put in are for color, taste and aroma (like cabbage, peppers,…)

I also add some dry ingredients that are there to soak up the extra water, so the mash freezes well, a very useful tip I’ve read on Parrot nation.

For today’s mash dry ingredients  I used coconut flakes, sesame seed, flax seed, mix of five different puffed grains and Avian Organics- Craving Carrots . Smell of the mash was absolutely AMAZING!!

This time around I used: carrots, celery root, parsley, ginger, black radish, kale, chard, broccoli, pumpkin, watercress, sweet potato, purple cabbage and that would be all, if I haven’t forgotten anything. In this batch I haven’t put any beans into the mash, because I have made a mix made only of beans few days ago, so I’ll combine everything together when I serve it to them. I concentrated only on organic, in season and fresh foods.

I serve them mash each morning, along with beans if they are not already in the mix and some sprouts. I have stopped free-feeding them, so I make them forage and work for everything. I believe that keeps them more occupied, active and fulfilled in the end. Mash, on the other hand,  is something that has to be served in a bowl, so I try to change it up as much as I possibly can, on day-to-day basis. To do that I sometimes feed it on their playground, sometimes I place a bowl of it in the bottom of their cages, while they’re out, so it’s has a surprise factor to it. They do get fresh food on skewers or some type of foraging toys like a buffet ball, but I try to make them work for it and have while doing so. I’m aware they shred or play in some way with fresh foods, but at least some of it gets eaten. Nothing is given without any work in our house, well, nothing except for mash! 🙂 They also get a dry mix, that mostly consists of Avian Organics dry mixes. I hide those inside of their foraging toys.

2 thoughts on “Mash making day

  1. I love this post! Foraging with mash is harder than with, say, an almond, but it can be done, as you say. Switching up the placement of the bowl, when compared with just offering it next to a perch, is a big difference.

Leave a Reply

