Foraging baskets

I had a few willow baskets around the house. My parrots love willow/vine items, so every time I see an untreated basket I buy one.

So, yesterday I took all three and filled them up with lots of goodies, everything but the kitchen sink went in there. For food I used Avian Organics dry mixes- Cazuela, Bolivian Bliss, Cravings, Veggie Bars, Truffles and some seed.

For the first basket I used paper cups, some were filled with food, some were left empty. I even scattered some food around the bottom of the basket. Than I added wood parts, leftover toy parts, wood beads, etc.

After I filled the first basket, I realized that I’m all out of paper cups, so the food for the next two was wrapped in kitchen towels. I took the baskets and placed them on the playgrounds. Surprisingly, this bought me 2 hours of peace and quiet 🙂

I like this type of toys because it gives them something to do while out of the cage, so they don’t just perch and watch the world go by. They can forage, chew wood and eventually, destroy the basket it self. Needless to say, I have to buy more baskets 🙂

3 thoughts on “Foraging baskets

  1. Thank you so much 🙂 The tree was a gift from a friend of mine that has an Amazon, she and her husband made this one, out of ash wood for us.

Leave a Reply

