Coconut oil breakfast!

I love coconut, I really do. It is very healthy and has a wonderful taste. You can use it in so many different ways; from cooking, baking to making your own skin care.

Recently I bought a new jar of organic, cold pressed extra virgin coconut oil, both for my self and my parrots. If you’re buying it, try to find extra virgin coconut oil, because it’s a much better quality, nutrient vise. I can’t speak for the price, but here, difference between extra virgin and regular coconut oil (both were organic) was a little less than 3$. Usually, coconut oil is readily available at health food stores.

Today, I made breakfast for my parrots using coconut oil. I used coconut oil, Avian Organics fruit Apple fruit powder, Avian Organics Pear’ngs and come cinnamon. I used a spelt cracker/ toast to place all the ingredients on it. I’m not sure in what category it exactly goes under, but it’s made only out of spelt flower and some water. You can buy them at any health food store. Hopefully, you can tell from the picture.

 I make this for myself, also. If I’m making it for myself, I sprinkle some flax seed on top. This is Lino’s favorite snack and he’ll gobble it down! Ringo isn’t too sure about it, but I keep offering and maybe she’ll start to like it in the end. Coconut oil is sticky, meaning parrots can’t pick out just seeds without some coconut oil and fruit powder getting stuck to them. Pear’ngs is a wonderful blend made of sesame seeds, puffed amaranth, chia, hemp, bee pollen,…

3 thoughts on “Coconut oil breakfast!

  1. I love coconut oil- I get mine from Tropical Traditions online for those in the states (no idea where else they ship), it is the best quality, fair trade, and grown without harming the environment.

    This treat looks so good, though! This is similar to how I give my parrots any supplements/medicine should they need it. They gobble it right down!

Leave a Reply

