Fresh picked from the garden

One of many perks of having a garden is that you’re able to grow what ever you like; from fruits and veggies, to beautiful flowers and trees.

This morning I went down to the garden and I’ve cut a few roses, lilies and willow branches, as well as harvested the last of my strawberries.

When it comes to parrot safe plants, please take into consideration that some of many lily species are not safe, however day-lilies (hemerocalis) are safe for your parrots. Lilies you see in the picture are not safe for parrots!  I’ve cut it, so I could put it in my vase.  Roses, on the other hand, are parrot safe.

Some parrot species, like indian ringneck, in the wild eat flowers as a part of their diet, so if you have a chance, offer parrot safe plants to your pets. If you are not sure if a certain plant is safe for your feathered companion, I found a wonderful list on Kitchen Physician.

Both Lino and Ringo enjoyed strawberries! I’ve placed them in a bowl on my kitchen counter and allowed them to pick what ever they liked. I think this is another very easy form of enrichment and they really liked it.

Strawberry season is coming to an end, so it’s good that everyone made the best out of it! Strawberries are easy to grow in a pot and they produce just as well, so you can plant them on your balcony if you don’t have a garden!

5 thoughts on “Fresh picked from the garden

  1. I love your posts and your pictures. I will check out the flower safe website, and see what I have that I can offer to my sweet Pionus.

  2. That first photo of the lilies (my favorite flower!), roses, and strawberries looks like it belongs in a magazine! Very beautiful!

    Living in Hawaii, we have an overabundance of hibiscus but my boys just look at me like, “This goes in the yard, not my beak.” LOL I definitely can’t wait until I have a yard next year so I can start building a square foot garden. One of my friends just started one in her yard with soil-less soil and her plants are already growing!

    I plan on papaya, lilikoi (more for me), possibly strawberry guava, watermelon, strawberries, and an assortment of veggies. I want there to be enough of an assortment, yet I don’t want it to be so high-maintenance that I have to spend a lot of time in the garden… we’ll see how it goes! LOL

Leave a Reply

