A bit of everything bread

I wanted to make a little treat for my parrots. Something simple and easy that didn’t require going outside in the rain to shop for ingredients.

I always keep a small stock of dry, organic, parrot safe ingredients for days like today.

I used flours I had at home- chickpea, spelt and whole wheat flour. I tried to use them in equal amounts. Any flour can go, really, it just depends on what you have on hand. I didn’t have many fresh vegetables at home today, as I didn’t have time to go shopping, BUT I had a lot of  other things to make it a more healthy treat.

I used- raisins, millet, Avian Organics Pura Vida and Pear’ngs, millet flakes, chopped up almonds and Avian Organics Craving Carrots. This is a mix of dried carrots, goji berried and mango, made for adding to homemade mashes, breads or muffins. Unfortunately, at the moment they are not selling it. I also added some seed mix I had and Cayenne pepper, ground ginger and fresh, cut up apples.

Not everything I added is pictured, though. I also added some organic apple powder I purchased from Avian Organics awhile ago. I added a teaspoon of extra virgin coconut oil, too. Instead of using eggs, I used chia seed that I allowed to gelatinize before adding to the mix. To make it form a batter, I added water as I was mixing it.  I could have used a bit more apple powder, though. Maybe next time.

After baking bread turned out pretty nice. It smells AMAZING!! It’s dense, doesn’t fall apart easily and looks really nice if I may say so myself.

5 thoughts on “A bit of everything bread

Leave a Reply

